The Haunted//Unseen

This is what I will call a “mid-listen” review of Unseen, by The Haunted. I heard varying reports on what this album was going to be months before its release. Most commentary airing on the side of ‘not worth it’. But, I must say, amidst contrasting reviews, I am really falling in love with this album. The very first song I heard by The Haunted was ’99’, from the rEVOLVEr album. I thought it was one of the best songs I had ever heard and I remember vividly blasting it through my truck speakers during my college years. I have listened to Sweden’s The Haunted ever since.

 

This album is, well, for lack of a better term, different. It is not The Haunted of years back; gone are the speedy riffs and aggressive screaming. I would be lying if I said I did not want to hear more of that, but this album treads upon ground that they haven’t yet walked through. I am someone who likes to see groups evolve and experiment, even though there are times where this fails and I end up wishing they would “get back to their roots”. Vocalist Peter Dolving had a controversial re-entry into the band when they recorded the rEVOLVEr album, but I love what he has done in the band. But, he is all I have ever known for the band. They let him experiment with his vocals this time around, and I think its working out great.

 

There are more layers within Unseen than with previous recordings, and even after a one time listen I can tell that this album is going to produce surprises down the road. It is interesting, and its definitely a ‘grower’, but I can’t get enough. I can say I didnt know what to expect from this record, and the single they released didnt really get me to pumped for the release. But now that I have the full album to play through, I know that in the context of the album, each song works perfectly.

 

Check this one out, I think you’ll dig it. My stand out tracks are The Skull, Them, and Never Better.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

