Unicron

 

 

 

Well, this is an interesting band I stumbled across on Tuesday while checking out the Fall in Archaea MySpace page. I was checking to see why their EP had not yet been released on iTunes, when I noticed their tour banner, and I just searched thefirst band on their below FIA, and it was a Canadian band that call themselves UNICRON.

I was drawn in by the technicality of it all. On top of all of that, the vocals sucked me in as well. Color me intrigued. I won’t lie, I tried to find the EP via “online resources” first. But, my unsuccessful attempt led me to the iTunes store and the eventual purchase of the Powerbomb EP. It only cost me a few bucks, and I was more than willing to part with 3 bucks to satisfy my growing curiosity brought on by the brightly colored MySpace page and sample songs they had on the player.

I would say that this in an interesting collection of songs. There are 4 total, and each includes technical noodling and electronic-laden, yet unconventional breakdowns. The majority of the vocals are done by Courtney LaPlante. The choruses and clean vocals are extremely catchy and bring out a very melodic side of the band, while bookended by brutal growls by LaPlante and bassist and 2nd vocalist Kenny Walker. Their are only 4 songs (not nearly enough!), but be sure to listen to Manic Panic, that is probably the stand out for me.

I have to give it up to Unicron, because they created such a buzz within me that I needed to have the album as soon as I heard the first song on their MySpace player. There is room for growth, and I don’t mean that to be a negative thing, because I think it is an awesome EP, I just know they have alot of potential and I am excited to hear what they are going to be able to create next. Be sure to grab the Powerbomb EP from iTunes to show them some support!

MySpace – http://www.myspace.com/unicronwillrockyourface

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/unicronband

Leave a Reply

